Alice's Adventures in Wonderland - Lewis Carroll and Jan Svankmajer



2 left in stock

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through The Looking Glass, in English, with illustrations by legendary filmmaker and artist Jan Svankmajer / a large paperback book with paper slipcover, made with obvious care by all involved (imported from the Czech Republic)


This special complete edition of Lewis Carroll’s Alice contains both volumes – the first book, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland as well as the second book, Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There. In addition the present volume also contains poems which open and end each book, together with Carroll’s Christmas and Easter greetings in the form of letters to his child readers which accompanied some later editions. Alice finds herself in the mysterious wonderland, a marvelous place whose peculiar inhabitants generally behave in a highly irrational manner. These eccentric characters implicate Alice in various fantastic situations, but she remains unfazed throughout, invariably responding with impervious logic. Her child-like naiveté enables her to point out the absurdity of the world, and in doing so to illustrate the singularity and authenticity of the perception of a child. This is also the reason that the book has long been regarded as a literary classic that will never become outdated.

Shop favorites

Recent Arrivals

Art & Design

Surrealist favorites

Down the rabbit hole...