Trilogy - Jon Fosse

Dalkey Archive


2 left in stock

Trilogy by Jon Fosse, translated by May-Brit Akerholt / ISBN 9781628973907 / 170-page paperback from Dalkey Archive


Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature for 2023

Trilogy is Jon Fosse’s critically acclaimed, luminous love story about Asle and Alida, two lovers trying to find their place in this world. Homeless and sleepless, they wander around Bergen in the rain, trying to make a life for themselves and the child they expect. Through a rich web of historical, cultural, and theological allusions, Fosse constructs a modern parable of injustice, resistance, crime, and redemption.

Consisting of three novellas (Wakefulness, Olav’s Dreams, and Weariness), Trilogy is a haunting, mysterious, and poignant evocation of love, for which Fosse received The Nordic Council’s Prize for Literature in 2015.

" . . . it is easy to see Fosse's work as Ibsen stripped down to its emotional essentials. But it is much more." —New York Times

" . . . an exploration of zones that are murky, dangerous, crucial, where craftmanship and inspiration seek and repulse each other." —LeMonde

Shop favorites

Recent Arrivals

Art & Design


Down the rabbit hole...